Set up in 2004, this informal group of universities was formed to further the interests of high voltage research within the United Kingdom. Specific objectives of the group include:

  • Raising the awareness of the research capabilities of group members to UK high-voltage related industry, particularly manufacturers and electricity supply companies.
  • Lobbying research funding organisations for ear-marked high-voltage related programmes

The role of the UHVNet consortium is:

  • To increase the visibility and dissemination of work carried out in universities in the high voltage area, both nationally and internationally;
  • To ensure the future health of the discipline by attracting younger researchers, and establish a community of networked researchers;
  • To improve training and learning for postgraduate students and researchers, and ensure continuity;
  • To develop links between academic institutions and industrial organisations and contribute to the innovation and engagement agenda;
  • To highlight contributions and establish a high profile for the discipline to attract and influence industry and government research funding;
  • To develop and undertake multi-partner initiatives to address major issues faced by industry.


UHVNet University Members

Cardiff University
Glasgow Caledonian University
Leicester University
Liverpool University
Staffordshire University
University of Manchester
University of Southampton
University of Strathclyde

Sponsors of UHVnet 2020

University of Strathclyde
High Voltage Technologies Research Group (U.o.Strathclyde)

Coordinating Group

Chairperson Institute
Dr Martin Given University of Strathclyde
Members Institute
Dr Thomas Andritsch University of Southampton
Dr Chris Gould Staffordshire University
Prof Sarath Tennakoon Staffordshire University
Prof Manu Haddad Cardiff University
Dr Steve Dodd University of Leicester
Prof Joe Spencer University of Liverpool
Dr Joe Spencer University of Liverpool
Dr Martin Judd HFDE Ltd
Dr Mohamed Emad Farrag Glasgow Caledonian University
Prof Gray Stevens University of Surrey
Dr Fabrice Perrot GE Grid Solutions
Mr John Zammit-Haber National Grid
Mr Cliff Walton Ricardo
Mr Alex Neumann ORE Catapult